Main Navigation

11 U students awarded prestigious NSF fellowships

This is the second-largest U cohort to date.

Eleven University of Utah graduate students were awarded the National Science Foundation’s Graduate Research Fellowship Program (NSF GRFP) for 2021, the second-largest U cohort to date. The prestigious fellowship supports outstanding doctoral and research-based master’s students doing research in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) disciplines. A total of 16 fellowship winners received their baccalaureate degrees here at the U, the largest group of winners ever who trained at the U as undergraduates.

“We are definitely way above our historical average, and our success is growing!” said David Kieda, dean of the U’s Graduate School.A bar graph showing the number of NSF GRFP fellowships awarded and the honorable mentions since 2010. It's a stacked bar graph, with blue bar on the bottom for awarded fellowships, orange on top for honorable mentions. You can see the 2021 year is the second highest year of awards.. 2020 was the highest.

Established in 1952, the NSF GRFP is the oldest fellowship program of its kind. The 2021 fellows receive a three-year annual stipend of $34,000, a $12,000 cost of allowance for tuition and fees, and numerous research and professional development opportunities.

Congratulations to the 2021 NSF GRFP fellows

Carena Cornelssen, biomedical engineering
Andrew Pendergast, chemical measurement and imaging
Isabella Archibald, chemical engineering
Brian Cottle, biomedical engineering
Lydia Fries, chemical catalysis
Kaitlin Hall, electrical/electronic engineering
Jerry Howard, materials research
Chantel Lapins, mechanical engineering
Isaac Martin, mathematical sciences
Titus Shiao Wen Quah, chemical engineering
Trevor Schwehr, mechanical engineering


Congratulations to the 14 graduate students who received honorable mentions

Steven Carlson, psychology
Rachel Gatlin, neurosciences
Brittany Haas, chemistry
Jennifer Isenhour, psychology
Andrew Liu, mathematical sciences
Lars Lofgren, biomedical engineering
Deirdre Mack, life sciences
Rebecca Mellema, immunology
Rebecca Neufeld, psychology
Paul Spaltenstein, chemistry
Michael Stewart, biochemistry
Matthew Waller, ecology
Stephanie Weber, mechanical engineering
Mirinda Mar Whitaker, psychology