Campus Announcements

Faculty members in electrical engineering, medicine and metallurgical engineering have been elected as fellows of the National Academy of Inventors.

The three newly named fellows are:

– Cynthia M. Furse, professor of electrical and computer engineering and associate vice president for research
– David R. Hillyard, M.D., professor of pathology in the school of medicine and medical director for molecular infectious diseases at ARUP Laboratories, a nonprofit enterprise of the U.
– Jan D. Miller, Ivor D. Thomas Distinguished Professor of Metallurgical Engineering, College of Mines and Earth Sciences.

The honor is “accorded to academic inventors who have demonstrated a prolific spirit of innovation in creating or facilitating outstanding inventions that have made a tangible impact on quality of life, economic development and the welfare of society,” in the words of the academy.

The three Utah faculty members are among 170 new fellows of the academy. They will be inducted on Mar. 20, 2015, during the 4th Annual Conference of the National Academy of Inventors at the California Institute of Technology in Pasadena. U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) Deputy Commissioner for Patent Operations Andrew Faile will give the keynote address for the induction ceremony.

Cynthia Furse

David Hillyard

Jan Miller

Madsen BackmanTHE DOCTOR IS IN
Now seeing patients until 8 p.m.

University of Utah Health Care is pleased to announce that two of our clinics – Sugar House Family and Madsen Family – have extended their hours.

New hours:
Monday-Thursday 7:30 a.m. – 8 p.m.
Friday 7:30 a.m. – 4 p.m.

Schedule an appointment:
Sugar House Health Center: 801-581-2000, 1138 E. Wilmington Ave., Salt Lake City, 84106
Madsen Health Center: 801-581-8000, 555 S. Foothill Blvd., Ste. 301, Salt Lake City, 84112

The clinics accept most insurance plans and offer same-day appointments.

University Dental Clinic Opening – Open House and Free Screenings
Thursday, Jan. 15, 2015 from 3-7 p.m.

The University of Utah School of Dentistry invites all university faculty, students and staff to attend an open house Thursday, Jan. 15 from 3 – 7 p.m. at the Ray and Tye Noorda Oral Health Sciences Building. Food, building tours and fun are available to all who attend.

The School of Dentistry’s new clinic is offering free dental screenings throughout January. To schedule a screening, please dial 801-58-SMILE (7-6453).

The new clinic offers complete dental care including:
• General pediatric and family dentistry
• Restoration and replacement
• Teeth Whitening

University health plans and most other insurances are accepted.

The Dental Clinic is located at 530 South Wakara Way, just east of the University Orthopedic Hospital.

Airs Tuesday, Jan. 6, 2015 at 9 p.m.

In December 2012, 20-year-old Adam Lanza walked into Sandy Hook Elementary School and killed 26 children and adults with a Bushmaster rifle before taking his own life with a handgun.

The tragedy shocked the nation, sparking an outpouring of grief and widespread calls from the public for politicians to “do something” about guns. The moment, it seemed, was gun control advocates’ to seize. But like many times before, they ran into intense opposition from a powerful political force: the National Rifle Association (NRA).

click to enlarge

Feed U is the University of Utah’s new food pantry.  The pantry was created for students who sometimes struggle to afford groceries and offers non-perishable food items at no cost.  The pantry is supported by a collaboration of university offices including: Campus Store, Lowell Bennion Community Service Center, Center for Student Wellness, Associated Students of the University of Utah (ASUU) and Women’s Resource Center.

The pantry is located on the second floor of the Campus Store. The pantry is open during the spring semester on Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 10 a.m. to 3 p.m. For tracking purposes, a valid university ID will be requested in order to collect food.

Please email the pantry manager, Abby Reyes, at with questions or details on how to support the pantry through donations or a food drive.


Jan. 12 from 12-1:30 p.m.

Join the psychology department on Jan. 12 from 12-1:30 p.m., to hear from professor Jean Decety as he discusses how empathy, justice and moral behavior guide our decision-making. Decety said, “…empathy is often seen as a driving motivation of moral behavior and justice, and as such, everyone would think it should be cultivated. However, the relationships between empathy, morality and justice are complex.”

Decety is the Irving B. Harris Professor at University of Chicago. He runs the Social Cognitive Neuroscience Laboratory there and is also director of the Brain Research Imaging Center at University of Chicago School of Medicine.

Location: Social and Behavioral Sciences (BEH S), room 712



linda-amosThe 2014 Women’s Week Committee, Presidential Commission on the Status of Women and Office for Equity and Diversity request nominations for the 16th annual Linda K. Amos Award for Distinguished Service to Women. This award recognizes an individual staff or faculty member who has selflessly given time and energy to improve the educational and/or working environment for women at the university.

The nominee should represent the ideals and actions of Dr. Linda K. Amos, for whom the award was named. Amos was the founding chair of the Presidential Commission on the Status of Women, was a professor of nursing and served for many years as dean of the College of Nursing and as associate vice president for Health Sciences. Throughout her career, she was the champion for improving the status and experience of women on campus. For more information, click here.

The award will be presented during the March 2015 Women’s Week Celebration.

Deadline for nominations is Friday, Jan. 16, 2015 at noon. Please send nomination materials electronically to



The Distinguished Faculty Service Award honors one University of Utah faculty member each year for their demonstrated commitment to the campus community connection through a career of active, unpaid community service.

The award is given at the Bennion Center recognition luncheon in March, and the recipient is honored at University Commencement. Nominations are being accepted through Jan. 12.

If you would like to nominate a faculty member for they distinguished service, please click here. Please address inquiries to Dean McGovern.