Main Navigation

U’s Top African American faculty and staff members recognized for excellence on campus

The Equity, Diversity, & Inclusion’s Black Cultural Center recently celebrated some the U’s brightest minds and socially conscious campus community members at the fourth annual Black Faculty and Staff Awards gala. The event honored individuals who displayed excellence in their work at the university as well as offering outstanding service and support within the campus community. Listed below are this year’s honorees.

Marcus Garvey Black Star Excellence Award

  • Jasmin Clardy (Black Student Union Advisor and African American/Black Student Engagement – Center for Equity & Student Belonging)
  • Domeda Duncan (Marketing Manager – Department of Planning and Analysis)

Madam C.J. Walker Resource Award

  • Bethany Hardwig (Director of Special Projects – Office of Alumni Relations)
  • Keke Fairfax (Associate Professor & Director of Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion – Division of Microbiology and Immunology)

Malcolm X Award of Social Justice

  • Rachel Alicia Griffin (Associate Professor & Associate Chair – Department of Communication)
  • Bryan Hubain (Associate Vice President for Student Development and Inclusion – Academic Affairs)

Maya Angelou Award of Innovation

  • Tashelle Wright (Health Equity Postdoctoral Research Associate – Department of Family & Preventative Medicine)
  • Sumiko Anderson (Assistant Professor (Clinical) – College of Social Work

Minijean Brown Award of Virtue

  • Nia Brooks (2022-2023 Operation S.U.C.C.E.S.S. Undergraduate Fellow)
  • Hilda Echelibe (Black Graduate Student Association)

James McCune Smith Award of Veneration

  • Manny Hendrix (Senior Associate Athletics Director for Alumni Engagement and Strategy – University of Utah Athletics)
  • Joy Pierce (Associate Professor – Department of Writing and Rhetoric Studies)