Lives of impact and inspiration

The U has its own Golden Globe awards of sorts, a night once a year where the university honors a group of outstanding and honorary alumni and faculty who have excelled professionally, served their communities and supported the university. On Feb. 25, the U family celebrated a fantastic group of honorees at a virtual Founders Day event. But words won't do these folks justice, take a look at their short video vignettes below. We dare you not to feel inspired.

Ronald G. Coleman BS’66 PHD’80 is an emeritus associate professor of history and ethnic studies at the U. As a student, Coleman played football and helped lead the Utes to their 1964 Liberty Bowl victory.

Rebecca Chavez-Houck BA’82 MPA’06 was a decade-long member of Utah's House of Representatives. She is adjunct faculty in the U’s MPA Program and serves on the National Advisory Council.

Joan Wolf BS’60 BSD’60 is professor emerita of the U’s Graduate School of Education. Harold Wolf PHD’61 was dean of the U’s College of Pharmacy from 1976–1989.  Together, the couple established an endowment for the Wolf Prize in the College of Pharmacy.

Sara Jones HBS’98 is president of InclusionPro, which trains leaders on building inclusive cultures. She is passionate about women in STEM fields and in 2007 she co-founded Women Tech Council.

Sydnee Dickson MED'87 EDD'07 is Utah state superintendent of public instruction. Dickson has provided leadership and guidance for Utah’s K–12 system during these challenging times of the pandemic.

Anne Osborn Poelman, MD, is recognized internationally for her contributions to the field of neuroradiology. She is Distinguished Professor of Radiology at the U and was the first female president of the American Society of Neuroradiology.