Main Navigation

2022 University of Utah Staff Excellence Award winners

University of Utah Human Resource Management is pleased to announce the eight recipients of the 2022 University of Utah Staff Excellence Awards (USEA). USEA was established in 1992 to recognize superior service and ongoing contributions by the University’s full-time employees.

The final eight winners were selected from a pool of 22 District Staff Excellence recipients by a committee coordinated by the President of the University’s Staff Council, and approved by Chief Human Resources Officer, Jeff Herring. To be selected as a USEA recipient is a very high honor and is a sign that their commitment and contributions are valued by their colleagues, supervisors, and leadership of the university.

Our USEA winners and all District winners will be recognized at an awards ceremony in November. Congratulations to all of our winners – we look forward to celebrating your achievements in the fall!

Our District recipients include:

Academics & Student Affairs District

  • Ashley Glenn, Academic Advising Center
  • Katy Riney, University Counseling Center

Administration District

  • Melanie Ward, HCI Research Administration

Heath Academics District

  • Mary McFarland, Eccles Health Sciences Library
  • Deidre Schoenfeld, College of Nursing - Dean

Hospitals & Clinics District

  • Stephanie Barrus, UUH Pharmacy
  • Joshua Ducourant, UUH Facilities Administration
  • Petra Estrada, UUH Environmental Services
  • A’Lisha Finch, HCH Multidisciplinary Clinic
  • Shawn Newton, HCH Pharmacy
  • Alicia Riddle, UCC Rheumatology Clinic
  • JD Steeneck, HMH Clinical Assessment
  • Sean Strope, Neurosurgery
  • Gerry Vasquez, UOC Post-Op Recovery

The eight final USEA recipients are:





Nicole Frank
Research Development Associate IV
SVPHS Research Unit
Health Academics District





Asma Hassan
Program Manager
Bennion Community Center
Academics & Student Affairs District






Maria Hernandez
Mobile Health Program Community Worker
Chief Wellness Office
Health Academics District






Troy Mangum
Psychiatric Technician II
Huntsman Mental Health IPC
Hospitals & Clinics District





Emily Miner
Nursing Manager
Huntsman Mental Health IPC
Hospitals & Clinics District





Amy Olsen
Digital Communications Specialist
HCI Communications
Administration District





Jenna Templeton
Assistant Director
Women’s Resource Center
Academics & Student Affairs District





Anthony Vickers
Custodial Crew Leader
President’s District – Facilities
Administration District