Women advancing women

The committee for the Linda K. Amos Award for Distinguished Service to Women is still looking for nominations or re-nominations for this prestigious award. They are looking for those who selflessly give their time and energy to improve the educational and/or working environment for other women at the university.

Harriet Hopf, professor of anesthesiology and bioengineering for the School of Medicine and senior special assistant to the office for faculty, was honored in 2017. With the cash award, she plans to create an interactive public space on campus where you can see and honor the previous recipients.

“When I look at the list of remarkable women who have won; I’m astounded and honored be on that list,” said Hopf. “I think those women, both faculty and staff, who have done big things should be honored. Women who are striving to advance all women, those are the ones who need to be nominated.”

Hopf was chosen for her consistency in fostering women’s growth and achievement, both within her academic department and campus wide. She also advises and mentors undergraduate and graduate level students through her American Women’s Medical Association and the Association of Future Female Physicians. In her role as Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, Hopf led the revision of the Faculty Appointment Review and Advancement (FARA) statement to include promotion and tenure policies that address the importance of mentoring, teaching and non-laboratory based research.

Nominations must be made by a member of the university community (faculty, staff or student) and should include:

  1. A letter of nomination outlining the candidate’s commitment to improving the educational and/or working environment for women at the U.
  2. A brief CV, resume or biography of the candidate.
  3. One or more additional letters from the university community supporting the candidate.

Click here for full instructions and the list of past recipients.

Deadline for nominations is Friday, Jan. 19, 2018, at 12 p.m. Please send nomination materials electronically to amos-award@utah.edu and use the subject line “LK Amos Award Nomination.”

Linda K. Amos was the founding chair of the Presidential Commission on the Status of Women, was a professor of nursing and served for many years as dean of the College of Nursing and as associate vice president for Health Sciences. Throughout her career, she was the champion for improving the status and experience of women on campus.