Meetings set to receive input in search for new U president

The University of Utah Presidential Search Committee will host three public meetings to obtain input from members of the University of Utah community and the general public on the search for the next president of the University of Utah. The first is set for Wednesday, Feb. 24, 2021.

Public input from these meetings will help the committee shape a position announcement, the primary advertisement for the position used in recruiting candidates. Those unable to attend these meetings are encouraged to submit a comment online by emailing


Zoom Video Conferencing

Meeting ID: 813 6924 3345

Passcode: 692156


Wednesday, Feb. 24, 2021
6–7:30 p.m.

Zoom Video Conferencing

Meeting ID: 843 2924 7270

Passcode: 935639


Thursday, Feb. 25, 2021
2–3:30 p.m.

Zoom Video Conferencing

Meeting ID: 899 1735 3558

Passcode: 254177


Tuesday, March 2, 2021

6–7:30 p.m.

After the position announcement is finalized, the committee will begin recruiting candidates, screening applications and conducting interviews with potential finalists. The next public announcement from the committee will be when it recommends three to five semi-finalists to the Utah Board of Higher Education. The Board intends to name a new president by the fall of 2021 but will take the necessary time to find the most qualified candidate.

To learn more about the search process and provide feedback to the search committee, visit and/or email

The University of Utah Presidential Search Committee is co-chaired by Utah Board of Higher Education Chair Harris H. Simmons and University of Utah Board of Trustees Chair Christian Gardner. It is comprised of representatives from the Utah Board of Higher Education, trustees, and institutional stakeholders including faculty, staff, students, administration, alumni and community members.

In January 2021, Ruth V. Watkins, president of the University of Utah, announced she has accepted a top post at Strada Impact and will step down in April 2021 after three years as president.