Pioneer Theatre Company Logo
Pioneer Theatre Company will produce the professional North American Premiere of a new musical, “The Count of Monte Cristo,” by Frank Wildhorn and Jack Murphy in its 2015-2016 season.

“The Count of Monte Cristo,” the musical based on the 1844 novel by Alexandre Dumas, was workshopped in New York City in 2008, with a concept album released in December of that same year. That concept album went platinum. The piece received its world premiere on March 14, 2009, in the Theater St. Gallen, Switzerland. The show has been a hit through Europe, Japan and Korea (where its going into its fourth season).

Multi-Grammy and Tony Award nominated composer/producer Frank Wildhorn, whose works span the worlds of popular, theatrical and classical music, has composed the score.

Book and lyrics are by Murphy.

RosenblattCall for Nominations

The Rosenblatt Prize for Excellence is an endowed award, given annually to a member of the faculty of the University of Utah, “to honor excellence in teaching, research and administrative efforts, collectively or individually, on behalf of the university.”

The Rosenblatt Prize Committee invites nominations from U faculty and the president of the university, based on the committee’s recommendations, selects the recipient.

Nominations materials should include:

  1. A letter of nomination with supporting discussion indicating the candidate’s accomplishments
  2. A current curriculum vitae
  3. A minimum of five but no more than 10 letters of reference, a majority should be from referees external to the university
  4. A brief description of the referees’ qualifications and relationship to the nominee.

Previous nominations made from 2013 until now will be carried forward. Also invited are re-nominations with additional information about the nominee.

Please send nominations and letters of support to:
Dave Kieda, committee member
2013 Rosenblatt Prize Committee
The Graduate School
University of Utah
201 South Presidents Circle
Room 302 Park
Salt Lake City, UT 84112-9016

Nomination deadline: Friday, Feb. 20, 2015

Additional information about the Rosenblatt Prize for Excellence can be found at

The University of Utah Staff Council Communications & Selections Committee is proud to announce the Spring 2015 University of Utah Staff Council Scholarship recipients:

Staff Council Logo
Jan Abramson from HSC Academic Affairs & Faculty Development received the $500 Main Campus HR sponsored scholarship.

Julie Alfred from the Moran Eye Center received the $500 Hospital HR sponsored scholarship.

Morgan Byrne from Red Butte Garden received the $500 Alumni Association sponsored scholarship.

Nicole Casados from UNI received the $500 Marriott Library sponsored scholarship

Alison Conner from Rare Books, Special Collections, Marriott Library received the $500 Tom Loveridge Memorial Scholarship.

Roxanne Fawson from AirMed received the $500 Blue Cross Blue Shield sponsored scholarship.

Lona Gordon from Office of Sponsored Projects received the $500 University of Utah Staff Council sponsored scholarship.

Justin Rhodehouse from ITS received the $500 Athletics sponsored scholarship


Fall 2014 recipients:

Denise Brenes from the History Department received the $500 Athletics sponsored scholarship.

Ian Godfrey from Marriott Library received the $500 University of Utah Staff Council sponsored scholarship.

Kassy Keen from Center for Student Wellness received the $500 University of Utah Staff Council sponsored scholarship.

Travis McMullin from the Eccles School of Business received the $500 Alumni Association sponsored scholarship.

Javier Segura from Hospital Customer Service, Interpreters received the $500 Tom Loveridge Memorial Scholarship.

Molly Steed from Special Collections, Multimedia received the $500 University of Utah Staff Council sponsored scholarship.