July 1-31

The Clear the Air Challenge is all about improving air quality, reducing traffic congestion and conserving energy in Utah by eliminating unnecessary vehicle trips. By eliminating a few vehicle trips throughout your week, you can make a big difference in your community while competing for weekly prizes, grand prizes and statewide bragging rights.

Clean air is important for the U and you. Take the challenge and see firsthand how many pounds of emissions, gallons of gas and dollars we can save when we work together. Register for one of the U’s nearly 200 teams at to make your commitment. And don’t forget to track your progress by logging into the site from your computer or mobile device.

Gretchen Dietrich_April 2015_071

The Utah Museum of Fine Arts is pleased to announce that Executive Director Gretchen Dietrich has been appointed to the board of the Association of Art Museum Directors, a national professional organization that represents 244 art museum directors in the U.S., Canada and Mexico.

Dietrich is one of seven new AAMD trustees, which include the directors of the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Andy Warhol Museum, the Crocker Art Museum, Winnipeg Art Gallery, Des Moines Art Center and Meadows Museum. AAMD members affirmed the new trustees in May at the organization’s annual meeting in Detroit. The AAMD promotes the vital role of art museums throughout North America and advances the profession by cultivating leadership and communicating standards of excellence in museum practice.

Dietrich has been executive director of the UMFA since August 2010. She is a member of Dean Raymond Tymas-Jones’ cabinet for the University’s College of Fine Arts.

Read the full press release here.


11 a.m.-1 p.m., 6th floor, S.J. Quinney College of Law (380 University Street)
Join the University of Utah S.J. Quinney College of Law alumni, faculty, staff, students and friends in celebrating the grand opening of the new S.J. Quinney College of Law building on Tuesday, Sept. 1. The event will begin with a short program followed by self-guided tours of the new facility. Light refreshments will be served.

RSVP here »

Free parking is available at Rice-Eccles Stadium, but strongly encourage you to use public transportation. Take TRAX university line to the stadium stop and walk a half block north. For other public transit options use UTA’s trip planner or click the “public transit” option under “get directions” on Google Maps.

Nominations open now, due Dec. 4

The Distinguished Innovation and Impact Award recognizes outstanding faculty innovators for contributions that improved the lives of people. The DIIA recognizes contributions by faculty from all academic disciplines, including health care, energy, environment, business, law, communications, technology or the arts. Awards are given each year to one or two outstanding faculty members who distinguished themselves and the university through entrepreneurial activities that resulted in innovations with a measurable societal impact. Faculty on career, clinical or tenure tracks are eligible. The recipient receives public recognition plus a $10,000 cash award to be used at his or her discretion.

Nominations for this award are accepted throughout the year on behalf of eligible faculty with at least five years of service at the University of Utah. Faculty, administrators and alumni are welcome to submit nominations for this prestigious university award. Past awardees are profiled at the Entrepreneurial Faculty Scholars page.

Letters of nomination containing a short statement outlining the qualifications of the nominee and curriculum vitae for this award are now being solicited. Nominations should be submitted electronically using a nomination form found here. This success of our nomination campaign depends, to a large extent, on the initiative of departments, administrative offices and campus organizations.

The deadline for submission of the nominations is Dec. 4 at 5 p.m.

For more information, call Kataleeya Kumsooktawonge at 801-581-8661 or email

Essential documents

Do you know of a business, nonprofit or governmental agency that truly embodies ethical leadership? You should enter them into the Utah Ethical Leadership Awards competition, sponsored by the Community Foundation of Utah, Daniels Fund and the Daniels Fund Ethics Initiative at the Eccles School.

“Our collective goal is to recognize leadership in Utah businesses, non-profit organizations and government entities that embody best practices in ethical behaviors,” competition leaders said.

Any business, government entity or nonprofit in those sectors with ethical standards is encouraged to apply by the July 15 deadline. Click here for more information and to apply for the award.

One organization from each sector will be recognized. A specific honor, the Bill Daniels Ethical Leadership Award, will go to the winner of the business category. The three awards will be given at a Sept. 11 awards breakfast, based on the criteria discussed below.

The Utah Ethical Leadership Awards are designed to recognize organizations that embody the spirit of ethical leadership exhibited by Bill Daniels. Daniels believed deeply in ethics and integrity and in the importance of absolute ethical principles. As an exceptionally honest and fair businessman, he always based his decisions on what he believed was right – not what he thought was best for himself or his company. This attitude and style of conducting business earned Daniels incredible respect and loyalty throughout the business world. Learn more about Daniels and his business and philanthropic role in Utah here.

Nominees for the Utah Ethical Leadership Awards will be judged against the Daniels Fund Ethics Initiative Principles in determining the award winner. The principles are the following:

1. Integrity – Act with honesty in all situations.
2. Trust – Build trust in all stakeholder relationships.
3. Accountability – Accept responsibility for all decisions.
4. Transparency – Maintain open and truthful communications
5. Fairness – Engage in fair competition and create equitable and just relationships.
6. Respect – Honor the rights, freedoms, views and property of others.
7. Rule of Law – Comply with the spirit and intent of laws and regulations.
8. Viability – Create long-term value for all relevant stakeholders.