With the warm weather and approaching Fourth of July holiday this weekend, the Salt Lake City Fire Department has designated the University of Utah as a firework restricted area. This means not even sparklers, ground flowers or smoke bombs in addition to larger fireworks are to be present on campus.

Other firework restricted areas include:

  • All areas east of Foothill Drive, and east of 1300 East to 500 South, including the U
  • All areas north of South Temple to State Street and North Temple to 200 West
  • City Creek Canyon
  • East of 200 West (Wall Street) through Beck Street to the city limit on the north
  • All city parks and wild land urban interface areas
  • All areas west of I-215

Click here for more information on firework restrictions and firework safety tips. For a map of all firework restrictions in Salt Lake City, click here.