Jan Miller wins Lifetime Achievement Award


The winner of the 2018 International Mineral Processing Congress (IMPC) Lifetime Achievement Award is Jan D. Miller, Ivor D. Thomas Distinguished Professor in the Department of Metallurgical Engineering at the University of Utah.

At the University of Utah, Miller has devoted over 40 years to undergraduate and graduate education. His research covers mainly the areas of mineral processing and hydrometallurgy, specializing in particle characterization, aqueous solution chemistry and colloid and surface chemistry. He is a member of SME, TMS and ACS. The recipient of numerous honors and awards, he was elected to the National Academy of Engineering in 1993.

In recent years he has become a world leader in the field of x-ray tomography in minerals processing.