2022 Distinguished Mentor Awards


The Graduate School is pleased to announce the 2022 Distinguished Mentor Award recipients. This year’s awardees demonstrate exceptional commitment to the mentorship of graduate students, postdoctoral scholars, and others across campus and beyond. All of our awardees go above and beyond to foster an inclusive and welcoming community and to instill a culture of outstanding mentorship in their units. The award honors their considerable efforts and provides a token of appreciation for all they do.

Leslie Francis, Ph.D.
Director, Center for Law & Biomedical Sciences, College of Law,
Professor, Law/Philosophy

Donald Ayer, Ph.D.
Senior Director of Cancer Training and Career Enhancement at Huntsman Cancer Institute (HCI).
Professor, Oncological Sciences

Helene Shugart, Ph.D.
Professor, Communication