Main Navigation

2021 Beacons of Excellence Award Recipients

Congratulations to this years winners that were identified as “Beacons of Change.”

Congratulations to this years winners that were identified as “Beacons of Change.” Outstanding nominations were submitted from across campus–each worthy of the award. A selection committee of faculty, staff and administration led by Sr. Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs Thomas Chase Hagood and Vice President for Student Affairs Lori McDonald recommended six recipients in 2021 for service inspiring and advancing change by raising awareness around marginalized students, creating institutional change and/or advancing racial justice across campus.

As a 2021 recipient for the University of Utah Beacons of Excellence Award, honorees will be recognized at an annual luncheon ceremony on Thursday, October 28 from noon–1:30 p.m.

2021 Beacons of Excellence Award Recipients 

  • International Health Scholars
    Loveleen Ghuman, Co-founder
    Debora Andrade, Co-founder
  • Justice Lab
    Anna E. Carpenter, Director of Clinical Programs & Director of Justice Lab
  • Psychology Department Diversity Committee
    Anu Asnaani, Co-Chair and
    Sheila Crowell, Co-Chair
  • Jennifer Follstad Shah
    Associate Professor, Environmental & Sustainability Studies/Research Assistant Professor, Geography
  • Meligha Garfield
    Director of the Black Cultural Center
  • Tramaine Jones
    Student Success Advocate, Office of Student Success & Empowerment

Watch for more information about each of these recipients to be released after the luncheon ceremony in October 2021.