Main Navigation

2020 Distinguished Mentor Awards

Congratulations to all the recipients.

The Graduate School is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2020 Distinguished Mentor Award. This year’s awardees demonstrate exceptional commitment to the mentorship or graduate students, postdoctoral scholars and others across campus and beyond. All of our awardees go above and beyond to foster an inclusive and welcoming community and to instill a culture of outstanding mentorship in their units. The award honors their considerable efforts and provides a token of appreciation for all that they do.

The 2020 awardees

Dr. Pearl Sandick

Associate Professor
Department of Physics & Astronomy
Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs
College of Science


Dr. William Smith

Professor and Chair
Department of Education, Culture & Society
College of Education
Professor of Ethnic Studies
School of Cultural and Social Transformation




Dr. Gregory E. Smoak

Director, American West Center
Associate Professor
Department of History
College of Humanities



Dr. Sheila E. Crowell

Associate Professor
Department of Psychology
College of Social and Behavioral Science