Student Life

Annual notice: Peer-to-peer file sharing and copyright violation
of Biology to be renamed the School of Biological Sciences 

amural sports: Spring 2018 registration is open

Alta Sustainability Leadership Award nominations due by Jan. 31, 2018

Call for nominations: Distinguished Innovation and Impact Award 2018


Every year, as a result of the Digital Millennium Copyright Act and the Higher Education Opportunity Act, The University of Utah distributes a notice about its policy regarding peer-to-peer file sharing and copyright violations. All students, faculty and staff should understand that it is a violation of federal law and university policy to share and/or distribute copyrighted materials without the permission of the copyright holder. Violators may be subject to civil and criminal prosecution under federal law, as well as personal sanctions specified in university policy.

Please review the policy notice and contact with any questions.

Department of Biology to be renamed the School of Biological Sciences

Effective Fall 2018, the Department of Biology within the College of Science will be renamed the School of Biological Sciences. “This change reflects the outstanding and broad diversity of research investigated by our Biology faculty, as well as the large faculty size,” said Henry White, dean of the College of Science. The department had 45 full-time tenured or tenure-track faculty members in the 2015-2016 school year.

Current department chair Denise Dearing will continue as director of the School of Biological Sciences, which will be organized into three emphasis areas: Ecology and Physiology, Cell & Molecular and Evolution and Genetics. The school will remain a part of the College of Science.

Intramural Sports: Spring 2018 Registration is Open
Get in on the action and play some intramural sports this semester.  Leagues and tournaments are open to all U students and Campus Recreation Services members.
From basketball and soccer to inner tube water polo and Spikeball, we have something for everyone.
Check out the list of sports and register today at or


The University of Utah is partnering with Alta Ski Area to recognize students, faculty and staff with the fourth Alta Sustainability Leadership Awards. The awards recognize members of the university community who demonstrate leadership in sustainability education, research or campus/community initiatives. An award of $2,500 is given in four award categories.

The application deadline is Jan. 31, 2018.

The awards will be presented on Feb. 15, 2018 at the Environment and Sustainability Research Symposium.

For more information on applying, or to nominate yourself or a colleague, click here.

Call for Nominations: Distinguished Innovation and Impact Award 2018

The Distinguished Innovation and Impact Award (DIIA) recognizes outstanding faculty innovators for contributions that improved the lives of people. The DIIA recognizes contributions by faculty from all academic disciplines, including health care, energy, environment, business, law, communications, technology or the arts.

The deadline for submissions is January 12, 2018, at 5 p.m.

To see criteria and deadlines, click here.